Did You Know?
Journey to the West is one of China’s Four Classic Novels
Chinese literature contains four masterpieces known as the Four Classic Novels (四大名著). Journey to the West, Outlaws of the Marsh, Romance of the Three Kingdoms, and Dream of the Red Chamber were written during the Ming and Qing dynasties. Throughout the centuries, these 100-plus-chapter novels have permeated Chinese culture and been represented in art, film, drama, literature, and more. The stories—from the adventures of the magical Monkey King to heroic episodes from Outlaws—are well-known by everyone in China from children to the elderly. They depict characters who abide by Buddhist, Taoist, and traditional Chinese moral philosophies, offering the reader a key to understanding the traditional Chinese way of thought.
Today the influence of the Four Classics has spread across the world. Shen Yun also presents exhilarating Four Classics pieces live on stage each season. Explore:
Monkey Business in the Dragon Palace
Capturing Arrows with Boats of Straw
Wu Song Beats the Tiger
Monkey King at Fire Mountain
And more!
Coming Up:
April showers bring… Shen Yun performances across California and the US, Europe, and sakura-blooming Japan and South Korea too!